2014 Santa Barbara Film Festival to Honor Emma Thompson

The ritzy and prestigious Santa Barbara International Film Festival recently announced that the actress Emma Thompson would be receiving the Modern Master Award during the next festival held in February 2014 at the Arlington Theatre in sunny Santa Barbara, CA.

It is a well-timed award for Thompson as she has already been receiving Oscar buzz for her praised performance as the author P.L. Travers — the creator of “Mary Poppins” — in the upcoming holiday film “Saving Mr. Banks.”
Previous recipients of the Modern Master Award include some notable names: Christopher Nolan, Anthony Hopkins, Diane Keaton, Jeff Bridges, Peter Jackson, Ben Affleck, and George Clooney.
The SBIFF purposely holds its festival in the heat of the Oscar buzz season just before the annual awards show, which makes its most notable award, the Modern Master Award, a coveted prize and sometimes an indication that the recipient has a good shot at nabbing an Academy Award.
The talented Thompson has already won Oscars for Best Actress in 1992 for “Howard’s End” and Best Adapted Screenplay in 1995 for “Sense and Sensibility” — the only person ever to win both.
In recent times, however, she’s seen a dry spell and has not received an Oscar nomination since 1995. “Saving Mr. Banks,” however, could change all that.
In addition to Emma Thompson, SBIFF will be giving awards to Cate Blanchett and Oprah Winfrey.
The Santa Barbara International Film Festival will last from Jan. 30 until Feb. 9 in Santa Barbara, which is located about 80 miles north of Los Angeles.
If you’re a serious filmmaker, check out IndieFilmFunding.com and sign up for your chance to make your film project not only a reality, but also a strong competitor in indie film festivals.